Top Five Tuesday – Summer Reads

A new Top Five Tuesday, the prompts are created by Bionic Book Worm. This week it’s summer reads. I can’t believe it’s nearly summer, what a strange one it will be.

136438851. The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

Kate Morton is always on my summer reads list. Her books always remind me of summer and make me a part of the stories. The Secret Keeper begins at a summer party, Laurel sees a stranger approach her house and her mother speaking with him. Before the day is over she witnesses a shocking crime and challenges everything she knows about her family.

25394580. sy475 2. The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley

Most of this book is set in South America so it’s nice and hot. Maya goes to Rio to trace her roots. We also flashback to her ancestors and their lives in Rio. It’s a large book and set in a warm place, a perfect summer read. My full review is here.

4667024. sy475 3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I love this book, it’s so powerful and it’s set in Mississippi so it’s hot and it’s a very important read. It follows the lives of two women of colour who work as maids and nannies for white families in the 1960s, they meet a young journalist who grew up in Mississippi and was raised by her maid, she wants to tell their story.

39797816. sy475 4. Tangerine by Christine Mangan

Tangerine is set in the 1950’s in Tangier, Morocco. We meet Alice first, she followed her husband to Tangier but has struggled with the city. The stifling heat and the crowds cause her to panic. Then an old school friend arrives out of the blue and brings back dark memories. My full review is here.

5996120. sy475 5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice reminds me of the countryside in the sunshine, it’s the perfect classic for the summer time. It’s also the only romance I will allow on my list!

What are some of your favourite summer reads?

One thought on “Top Five Tuesday – Summer Reads

Leave a comment